COMPETITION: Enter for your chance to win a bundle of great Australian books.
COMPETITION: Enter for your chance to win a bundle of great Australian books. Contributed.

WINNERS ANNOUNCED: Miles Franklin book competition

THE winners of Seniors Newspaper's Miles Franklin Book Competition have been drawn, contacted and confirmed.

They are:

Sunshine Coast Seniors Newspaper: J.Barnes, Caloundra.

Toowoomba Seniors Newspaper: D.Marrie, Toowoomba.

Brisbane Seniors Newspaper: L.Wilson, Bribie Island.

Gold Coast Seniors Newspaper: M.McDonnell, Surfers Paradise.

Wide Bay Seniors Newspaper: Y.Biddle, Wide Bay.

Northern News South Wales Seniors Newspaper: K.Podboj, Casino.

Central Coast Seniors Newspaper: M.McNally, Canton Beach.

Coffs & Clarence Seniors Newspaper: B.McKinnon, Coffs Harbour.


WE HAVE eight bundles of five books to give away, which includes a copy of each of the five short-listed books for the 2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award.

To win, email us at with:

1/ Your name, postal address, email address, phone number.

2/ Your Seniors Newspaper region.

3/ Tell us in 25 words or less "which is your favourite Miles Franklin finalist and why?"

A winner will be chosen by random draw for each of Seniors Newspaper's regions: Sunshine Coast Seniors Newspaper; Toowoomba Seniors Newspaper; Brisbane Seniors Newspaper; Gold Coast Seniors Newspaper; Wide Bay Seniors Newspaper; Northern News South Wales Seniors Newspaper; Central Coast Seniors Newspaper; Coffs & Clarence Seniors Newspaper.

Entries close at 9am (AEST) on November 7 for entries from QLD, and 9am (AEDT) on November 14 for entries from NSW.

You can find the full terms and conditions on our website here:

Books included in the prize bundles are: The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood; Black Rock White City by A.S. Patric; Salt Creek by Lucy Treloar; Leap by Myfanwy Jones; and Hope Farm by Peggy Frew.


THE Miles Franklin Literary Award is Australia's most prestigious literature prize. Established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin, the prize is awarded each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

The award first presented in 1957, helps to support authors and to foster uniquely Australian literature.

Miles Franklin believed that: "Without an indigenous literature, people can remain alien in their own soil." She also had first-hand experience of struggling to make a living as a writer and was the beneficiary of two literary prizes herself.

The first winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award was Patrick White, for his novel Voss. White received £500 and declared: "I am going to buy a hi-fi set and a kitchen stove."

A. S. Patric is the 2016 winner.

Meghan, Harry ‘struggling to cope’ in LA

Meghan, Harry ‘struggling to cope’ in LA

Dream of a blissful new life has quickly turned into a nightmare

Fresh confusion over virus 'detention'

Fresh confusion over virus 'detention'

Thousands of Melbourne public housing residents have been provided with "detention...

Man in iconic 9/11 photo dies from virus

Man in iconic 9/11 photo dies from virus

This man miraculously survived the 9/11 terror attacks