Decommissioned vessels offered to States and Territories

HMAS Tobruk beaching during an exercise in 2006
HMAS Tobruk beaching during an exercise in 2006

MINISTER for Defence Senator the Hon Marise Payne today announced that the decommissioned vessels, ex-HMA Ships Tobruk and Sydney, will be offered to the States and Territories for the creation of dive wrecks.

After decades of invaluable service in the Royal Australian Navy, Tobruk and Sydney were decommissioned in July 2015 and November 2015 respectively.

Tobruk was used extensively during regional peacekeeping and humanitarian operations as well as border protection in Northern Australia.

Sydney was deployed to the Persian Gulf on five occasions in support of operations during the Gulf War, War in Afghanistan and the 2003 invasion of Iraq. Closer to home, Sydney was involved to support Australia's response to regional uprisings and humanitarian operations.

"There are significant challenges with preparing ex-Navy vessels for dive wrecks to assure the safety of recreational divers, however I appreciate the tourism and economic benefits that the creation of a dive wreck can have to local communities," Minister Payne said.

The decommissioned vessels will be demilitarised by the Department of Defence. The preparation and funding of the vessels for use as a dive wreck will be the responsibility of the State or Territory that agrees to the terms and conditions of the offer. The States and Territories will be responsible for ensuring the dive wreck meets the necessary work, health and safety legislation to assure the safety of those diving on the wrecks.

Defence will schedule inspection days in June 2016 to allow State and Territory government representatives and their industry partners to attend briefings and inspect the vessels. Defence will use this opportunity to provide information about work, health and safety issues, as well as hazardous materials content of the vessels.

Which States and/or Territories should receive the dive wrecks?

This poll ended on 18 April 2016.

Current Results



New South Wales




South Australia


Western Australia




Australian Capital Territory (ACT)


Northern Territory (NT)


This is not a scientific poll. The results reflect only the opinions of those who chose to participate.



Topics:  brisbane nsw queensland seniors states

Community notices: Central Coast

Local Wyong writers meet monthly to encourage and develop their writing skills. Meeting are on the fourth Saturday of each month.

Get involved and make new friends at your local club or group.

2018 influenza vaccines now available for the Central Coast

Getting vaccinated from mid-April will ensure you are protected before Australia's peak flu period, from around June to September.

It's important to get the flu shot every year, as the virus changes.

ANZAC DAY: Services and marches for Ipswich and surrounds

The City of Ipswich Anzac Day parade.

Commemorate ANZAC Day at locations across the city